Sound Quartet

expanding electroacoustic chamber music


_ Sound Quartet is expanding the field of chamber music with electroacoustic research, composition and performance. The ensemble is project oriented with each concert as an opportunity to explore possibilities beyond the already confirmed. Sound Quartet is everchanging but still with both new and old faces in a joint search for an exquisite musical flow within mesmerising soundworlds.
The ensemble was established in the nineties out of experimental research at Elektronmusikstudion (EMS) Sweden and Musiques Inventive d'Annecy France. Since 2007 Stockholm Sweden is the home for Sound Quartet with Thomas Bjelkeborn as main initiator and artistic organiser.
Swedish Arts Council subsidised Sound Quartet 2014/15/16 international tours, they also supported 2020/21 Covid related projects and canceled concerts, from 2022 with ensemble support.
Sound Quartet has been involved in research and artistic work to further develop the music for the Sound Quartet as part of artistic residencies at: Sound and Physical Interaction research group Alto University Helsinki, NOVARS research center Manchester University School of art and Music (UK) and Musiques Inventives d'Annecy (FR).
_ Musicians involved in 2021/2022 concert productions: Martina Claussen (AU) voice/electronics, Philippe Moenne-Loccoz (FR) electronics/percussion and Inigo Ibaibarriaga (ES) saxophone. From Sweden Eva Lindal violin, Ida Lundén keyboard/gadgets, Paul Pignon woodwinds/flutes/didgeridoo and Thomas Bjelkeborn on electronics/gadgets. For stage settings on visuals Lisa Ulves and Ida Davidsson both from Sweden.
_ Concerts curated by Thomas Bjelkeborn as the Fridays PUSH concert series at Fylkingen Stockholm with Sound Quartet as resident ensemble
4 mar Martina Claussen voice/electronics, Lisa Ulves visuals, Paul Pignon woodwinds and Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics
1 apr Inigo Ibaibarriaga sax, Philippe Moenne-Loccoz electronics, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics, Paul Pignon woodwinds and IAKDS visuals.
21 may Flawland TBA
xx aug TBA
xx sep TBA
xx oct TBA
xx nov TBA
3 feb, 6/7 apr, 11 jun Canceled concerts with Philippe Moenne-Loccoz, Eva Lindal, Paul Pignon and many more.
13 aug Martina Claussen voice/electronics, Lisa Ulves visuals, Paul Pignon woodwinds and Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics.
21 nov Philippe Moenne-Loccoz electronics, Ida Lundén keyboards, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics and Paul Pignon woodwinds.
31 jan Eva Lindal violin, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics and Viktor Zeidner turntables.
20 mar, 24 apr, 16 may, 18 sept, 19 sept Canceled concerts with Philippe Moenne-Loccoz, Emma Lloyd, Nadia Rastimandresy, Eva Lindal, Martin Jonsson Tibblin and many more.
29 mars (*)(**) Emilie Girard-Charest cello, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics, Emma Lloyd violin and Koray electronics.
05 may Lisa Ullén piano, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics, Viktor Zeidner turntables and Lise-lotte Norelius electronics.
27 sept Philippe Moenne-Loccoz electronics, Anne Pajunen voice, Martin Jonsson Tibblin guitar and Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics.
08 dec Iñigo Ibaibarriaga Saxophone, Viktor Parra violin, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics and Paul Pignon woodwinds. External concert at Candyland.
23 mar Martina Claussen voice/electronics, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics, Ida Lundén keyboards and Paul Pignon woodwinds.
4 may Josep Lluís Galiana saxophones, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics, Lise-lotte Norelius electronics and Lisa Ullén grandpiano.
23 aug Eva Lindal violin, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics, Ida Lundén keyboards and Viktor Zeidner turntables.
19 oct (*)(**) Emma Lloyd violin, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics, Emilie Girard-Charest cello and Koray Tahiroglu electronics.
8 sept (*) Hara Alonso grandpiano, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics & Paul Pignon woodwinds.
27 oct (*) Emma Lloyd violin, Hara Alonso grandpiano and Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics
24 nov (*) Emilie Girard-Charest cello, Hara Alonso grandpiano, Thomas Bjelkeborn electronics & Philippe Moenne-Loccoz electronics.
(*) supported by Stockholm City Culture
(**) supported by Swedish Performing Arts Agency
_ musicians in previous concerts since 2007
International musicians Inigo Ibaibarriaga (ES), Viktor Parra (ES), Emilie Girard-Charest (C), Emma Lloyd (UK), Josep Lluís Galiana (ES), Koray Tahiroglu (FI), Nadia Ratsimandresy (FR), Blanca Regina (UK), Viv Corringham (US), Joachim Spieth (ES), Jukka Kääriäinen (FI), Matt Scott (UK), Andrew Woodhead (UK), Jess Aslan (UK), Edith Alonso (ES), Julian Bonequi (MX) and Anthony Maubert (FR). And from Sweden Eva Lindal, Lisa Ullén, Lise-Lotte Norelius, Hara Alonso, Viktor Zeidner, Catharina Backman, Erik Carlsson, Nina de Heney, Alexandra Nilsson, Johan Sundberg and Olle Åberg. The following have appeared as visual artists: Raquel Meyers (ES), Blanca Regina (UK), Ida Davidsson aka IAKDS, Lisa Ulfves, Viktor Zeidner and Michael Larsson. Projects with dancer/choreographer Liisa Pentii (FI).
_ links for musicians and visual artists 2021/2022 (click on the name for info)
Thomas Bjelkeborn Stockholm Sweden
Martina Claussen Vienna Austria
Ida Davidsson Göteborg Sweden
Inigo Ibaibarriaga Bilbao Spain
Eva Lindal Stockholm Sweden
Emma Lloyd Edinburgh UK
Ida Lundén Stockholm Sweden
Philippe Moenne-Loccoz Bourgoin-Jallieu France
Paul Pignon Jordbro Sweden
Lisa Ulves Stockholm Sweden
10805729_10152381266487676_1792003263956396687_nPicture of SQ at Audio Art Festival 2014. In the past Sound Quartet sometimes toured as a trio with a duo setting on stage extended with visuals.

© 2023 Sound Quartet

Tema av Anders Norén